The Opposite of False Hope

Emma's Hope Book

Two days ago, Emma wrote her “Letter To the World” and yesterday while doing a throw-the-entire-house-into-disarray spring cleaning, I came upon a scrap of paper where I’d scrawled an enthusiastic note about something Emma had said.  I was so excited by her comment I had thought to write it down immediately lest I forget.  I even dated it.   The note read, 11/20/11 – Emma saw the next word we were about to work on and she said – “today we do “see”!  You see I did not realize then that Emma already knew how to read.  At the time, we had no idea of Emma’s capabilities.

Along with this note were books on counting, a whole book devoted to telling time, another that dealt with coins and the value of a penny, nickel, dime and quarter.  There were kindergarten level readers and books featuring simple addition and…

View original post 871 more words

Please leave a Reply

