An Open Letter to Steven Moffat About Why Mental Health Should Never be a Punchline

Accidental Social Commentary

* Okay, this post needs to come with a disclaimer. Whenever I’ve been critical about this show in the past, I’ve tried to be as neutral and fair as possible, because (a) I love Sherlock Holmes in any form and (b) I’m sure it’s not easy being the show-runner for something that has such a huge following. But this is going to be a little bit of a rant. I get very passionate when it comes to mental health issues. My little sister has PDD-NOS (Pervasive Developmental Disorder Not Otherwise Specified) a spectrum disorder similar to Aspergers, and I get very protective when the media takes on autism in general. One of the reasons why I’m in law school is because of all the ways I’ve seen the system fail her over the years.

There are a couple of things this post is not. This is one viewpoint from someone…

View original post 1,870 more words

Please leave a Reply

