The “R” Word

Nomadic Meredith

Years upon years I have struggled (& still do, mind you) with the thought of how rude people can be. How people will come up to me and ask my why my brother threw a “random” tantrum in the middle of church and go, “Oh, I get it so he can’t talk so that makes him like an alien right? He’s a retarded kid, right?” Early on I recognized that this would be a problem that I’d endure with my brother. I’ve been assured that the “r” word is not only loathed by me alone, that I am not the only sibling in the world who loathes that dreaded derogatory word. How many times I hear that word, even at church, is enough to boil me like a steaming kettle. It’s not only until recently that I’ve been finding human ignorance so fascinating. That people say things and not even know…

View original post 735 more words

Please leave a Reply

