I am tired (tw for institutionalization, abuse, murder, dehumanization)

The Caffeinated Autistic

I am tired.

I am tired of proving my humanity.

I am tired of explaining to you why you shouldn’t treat your autistic kids like a zoo exhibit.

I am tired of hearing parents whine about what it’s like to care for an autistic kid.

I am tired of hearing how I should be more understanding and what about my parents –  don’t I know that I probably made them want to kill themselves too?

I am tired of being mocked because I misunderstood.

I am tired of being insulted because I’m “lazy” for choosing a job that allows me to still be able to function at the end of the day, rather one that sends me into a panicked meltdown every day, even if I’m “wasting” my intelligence and college degree.

Forgive me if I’m not empathetic enough. Forgive me if I can’t be nice while you dehumanize me.

View original post 51 more words

Please leave a Reply

