Why I Want To Adopt A Child With Autism

Thought Catalog

Whenever I tell people I want to adopt a child with Autism, I get half-crazy, half-pity looks. Most people tell me I’m being innocent and naïve, and I’ll change my mind as I get older and see more of the world.

I like to believe they are wrong.

There are so many things I love in my life, but one of my biggest passions is working with kids with Autism. I have been doing it for about 2 years now, just at my college, as a side job on campus. It has completely changed my world. There is something about working with a child who sees the world so differently from you that will make you love him or her even more.

That being said, I remember working with my first child: it was a disaster. I had absolutely no idea what I was doing. I felt like I was…

View original post 387 more words

Please leave a Reply

