Thou shalt NOT talk down!

I love this!!

Square Peg in a Round Hole

I’m just gonna jump right in and say this, because it’s been on my mind for a very long time “people with disabilities of any kinddo not like or appreciate being talked down to!”

There. I said it.

Shall I say it again? Because, I’m not sure some people heard me the first time. 

People with disabilities of any kind do not like or appreciate being talked down to!

People (adults and children) with a disability can hear you when you speak to them. They may not make eye contact with you at first, because starting back at someone dead on can be uncomfortable for them, but just because they’re not looking at you, doesn’t mean that they can’t hear you.

And baby talk? Uuuuuggghh! Don’t even get me started, but since I’m already diving into choppy waters, I’ll just go ahead and say this too; just…

View original post 436 more words

Please leave a Reply

